Supply Explorer
Base oil plant

Safety-Kleen East Chicago re-refinery

Safety-Kleen Systems, Inc. (Clean Harbors subsidiary) · Clean Harbors, Inc. · East Chicago, IN

Operating PADD 2 Group not published KLEEN+
Aerial view of the site Imagery: USDA, USGS The National Map (public domain)
b/d base oil capacity
5,414
API groups made
0
rank of 22 plants on record
#16
events on record
5

Base oil capability

Capacity by API group from public operator, permit and filing documents; each row links its source. MEDIUM confidence, researched 2026-10-24.
Group not published · 5,414 b/d

Operating per Clean Harbors FY2025 10-K (lists East Chicago among seven operating re-refineries; Newark CA and Rollinsford NH were idled in early 2025). Part 70 (Title V) source at 601 Riley Road, East Chicago IN 46312; permit renewal T089-40580-00301 issued 2019-12-12.

API groupb/dAs publishedBasisIn effectSource
Group not published ★ 5,414 83,000,000 gal/yr
Base oil OUTPUT ('Base Oil Produced - 83M GPY'); 83,000,000 gal/yr / 42 gal per bbl / 365 d = 5,414 b/d. Operator page gives no API group for the site; KLEEN+ RHT grades are marketed as Group II+ (RHT240 data sheet) and company-wide output includes Group III. Preferred because it is the operator's current figure.
company stated — Safety-Kleen Systems (Clean Harbors) medium
Group not published 7,502 115,000,000 gal/yr
Used motor oil FEED ('Rated Capacity 115M GPY UMO Feed'), not base oil output; 115,000,000 / 42 / 365 = 7,502 b/d. Same page also lists a 30M GPY lubricants blending facility at the site.
company stated — Safety-Kleen Systems (Clean Harbors) medium
Re-refined Group II 4,200 4,200 b/d
Base oil output as reported in a July 2012 Lube Report article ('800 b/d of API Group I and 4,200 b/d of Group II'); dated and superseded by the operator's current gallons figure, kept as the only public group split found. Not preferred because it predates the 83M GPY figure.
company stated — Lubes'n'Greases (Lube Report) medium
Process route
Re-refining (hydrotreating)
Feedstock
Used lubricating oil
Brands
KLEEN+
Ships by
truck, rail, barge
Owners
Clean Harbors, Inc. 100%

Grades offered

GroupGradecSt @100 °CBrandSource
Group II+ KLEEN+ RHT240 7.0 KLEEN+ Safety-Kleen Systems high
Group II KLEEN+ RHT70 — KLEEN+ Safety-Kleen Systems (Clean Harbors) medium
Group II KLEEN+ RHT120 — KLEEN+ Safety-Kleen Systems (Clean Harbors) medium

Base oil events and projects

  1. 2025-12-31 Expansion Group not published east-chicago-sda-600n

    FY2025 10-K: 'In 2025, we began construction of a state-of-the-art Solvent De-Asphalting, or SDA, unit' adjacent to the East Chicago, Indiana re-refinery, to 'reprocess certain by-products produced today into 600N base oil'; 'expected that this facility will be operational in 2028'. $30.4 million spent in 2025, $85 million expected in 2026, expected full project cost $210-220 million. Date placed at fiscal year-end. announced 2025-10-29 · public target 2028 SEC EDGAR high

  2. 2025-10-29 Expansion Group not published east-chicago-sda-600n

    Clean Harbors said it plans to build a plant using solvent de-asphalting (SDA) technology to convert the re-refining byproduct vacuum tower asphalt extender (VTAE) into 600N base oil; investment $210 million to $220 million, 'commercial launch anticipated in 2028', expected annual EBITDA $30-40 million. Location not named in the release. announced 2025-10-29 · public target 2028 SEC EDGAR / Clean Harbors high

  3. 2024-09-17 Expansion Group not published east-chicago-asphalt-binder

    IDEM draft Significant Permit Modification 089-47236-00301 and Significant Source Modification 089-47229-00301 would allow new process heaters (H-1001, H-1102, H-1101), storage tanks T-977 to T-996 and flare FL-802 'to allow the production of a new product, asphalt binder'; IDEM public meeting 2024-09-17, comment deadline extended to 2024-09-23 (ELPC fact sheet). Final IDEM decision not confirmed by this research. Relationship to the SDA unit not stated by any source. Environmental Law & Policy Center medium

  4. 2022-04-01 Other Group not published

    IDEM approved Title V Minor Source Modification 089-45246-00301 for one natural gas fired boiler (SB-822, 58.5 MMBtu/hr, low-NOx burners) at the 'stationary oil re-refinery located at 601 Riley Road'; application received 2022-03-21. actual 2022-04-01 Indiana Department of Environmental Management high

  5. 2020-12-31 Outage Group not published

    Company-wide, not plant-specific: in response to COVID-19 declines in used oil availability and base/blended oil demand, Clean Harbors 'temporarily shuttered nearly half of the total production capacity of these re-refineries'; 'By the end of 2020, our re-refinery production capacity had returned to mid-2019 levels.' Date placed at fiscal year-end of the filing. SEC EDGAR high

Not established from public sources: No public source splits current East Chicago base oil output by API group; the operator page gives 83M GPY base oil and 115M GPY used-oil feed without a group, and the only group split found (800 b/d Group I, 4,200 b/d Group II) is from a 2012 trade article. The operator page read was the French-language node of safety-kleen.com (English URL not located); it is undated. Hydrotreating route is supported by the 2012 Lube Report reference to 'hydrotreated rundown' from the re-refinery and the KLEEN+ RHT grade line, not by a process description on the operator page. Coordinates are a Nominatim geocode of the permit address 601 Riley Road, East Chicago IN 46312 (approximate; the second geocode candidate was 41.6506, -87.4757). Final IDEM decision on the 2024 asphalt-binder modification and whether it is the SDA unit's permit were not confirmed. Clean Harbors FY2025 10-K publication date not captured (cover references 2026-02-11 share count).

Reach

Base oil leaves this plant by truck, rail, barge. Base oils move by truck, rail, barge and vessel; pipelines rarely carry them, so the explorer draws no pipeline reach for a base oil plant.

Events

Start-ups, expansions, closures, outages and ownership changes — newest first. Events that share a project key form one project; its slippage is the gap between its first public target and the latest.
ProjectGroupAnnouncedFirst public targetCurrent targetActualb/d
east-chicago-asphalt-binder
IDEM draft Significant Permit Modification 089-47236-00301 and Significant Source Modification 089-47229-00301 would allow new process heaters (H-1001, H-1102, H-1101), storage tanks T-977 to T-996 and flare FL-802 'to allow the production of a new product, asphalt binder'; IDEM public meeting 2024-09-17, comment deadline extended to 2024-09-23 (ELPC fact sheet). Final IDEM decision not confirmed by this research. Relationship to the SDA unit not stated by any source.
Group not published 2024-09-17 — — — —
east-chicago-sda-600n
FY2025 10-K: 'In 2025, we began construction of a state-of-the-art Solvent De-Asphalting, or SDA, unit' adjacent to the East Chicago, Indiana re-refinery, to 'reprocess certain by-products produced today into 600N base oil'; 'expected that this facility will be operational in 2028'. $30.4 million spent in 2025, $85 million expected in 2026, expected full project cost $210-220 million. Date placed at fiscal year-end.
Group not published 2025-10-29 2028 2028 — —
  1. 2025-12-31 Expansion east-chicago-sda-600n

    FY2025 10-K: 'In 2025, we began construction of a state-of-the-art Solvent De-Asphalting, or SDA, unit' adjacent to the East Chicago, Indiana re-refinery, to 'reprocess certain by-products produced today into 600N base oil'; 'expected that this facility will be operational in 2028'. $30.4 million spent in 2025, $85 million expected in 2026, expected full project cost $210-220 million. Date placed at fiscal year-end. SEC EDGAR

  2. 2025-10-29 Expansion east-chicago-sda-600n

    Clean Harbors said it plans to build a plant using solvent de-asphalting (SDA) technology to convert the re-refining byproduct vacuum tower asphalt extender (VTAE) into 600N base oil; investment $210 million to $220 million, 'commercial launch anticipated in 2028', expected annual EBITDA $30-40 million. Location not named in the release. SEC EDGAR / Clean Harbors

  3. 2024-09-17 Expansion east-chicago-asphalt-binder

    IDEM draft Significant Permit Modification 089-47236-00301 and Significant Source Modification 089-47229-00301 would allow new process heaters (H-1001, H-1102, H-1101), storage tanks T-977 to T-996 and flare FL-802 'to allow the production of a new product, asphalt binder'; IDEM public meeting 2024-09-17, comment deadline extended to 2024-09-23 (ELPC fact sheet). Final IDEM decision not confirmed by this research. Relationship to the SDA unit not stated by any source. Environmental Law & Policy Center

  4. 2022-04-01 Other

    IDEM approved Title V Minor Source Modification 089-45246-00301 for one natural gas fired boiler (SB-822, 58.5 MMBtu/hr, low-NOx burners) at the 'stationary oil re-refinery located at 601 Riley Road'; application received 2022-03-21. Indiana Department of Environmental Management

  5. 2020-12-31 Outage

    Company-wide, not plant-specific: in response to COVID-19 declines in used oil availability and base/blended oil demand, Clean Harbors 'temporarily shuttered nearly half of the total production capacity of these re-refineries'; 'By the end of 2020, our re-refinery production capacity had returned to mid-2019 levels.' Date placed at fiscal year-end of the filing. SEC EDGAR

Rates are pipeline line-haul transcribed from published FERC tariffs; every figure cites its tariff and item. Cost to serve (netback) adds origin spot price and destination fees. "Confirmed" links match a tariff delivery point to the facility; "same city" means the point is in the facility's city — plausible, not proof; "per research" means the facility's research profile names the pipeline as an outlet.