Chevron El Segundo Refinery
Chevron U.S.A. Inc. · Chevron Corporation · El Segundo, CA
- bpd crude capacity · EIA 2026
- 285,000
- pipelines it injects into
- 2
- delivery points reachable
- 4
- terminals on those points
- 3
- events on record
- 5
Capability
Crude distillation 285,000 bpd operable, 285,000 operating (EIA-820, as of 2026-01-01). Downstream units below, barrels per calendar day.
Conversion — makes gasoline and diesel from heavier oil
| Catalytic cracking (FCC) | 72,000 |
| Hydrocracking — gas oil | 52,000 |
| Delayed coking | 72,000 |
Upgrading
| Catalytic reforming — low pressure | 48,000 |
| Vacuum distillation | 169,100 sd |
Treating — meets sulfur specs
| Hydrotreating — diesel | 51,500 sd |
| Hydrotreating — kerosene & jet | 41,500 sd |
| Hydrotreating — naphtha / reformer feed | 62,500 sd |
| Hydrotreating — heavy gas oil | 74,000 sd |
| Hydrotreating — other distillate | 14,000 sd |
Production capacity
Crude slate
Chevron's refinery overview fact sheet (2017 figures) gives crude receipts as 20% by pipeline from California sources and 80% through the marine terminal. A separate Chevron fact sheet says about 90% of the crude arrives by tanker. Venezuelan crude use has been under consideration. Santa Ynez (Sable) offshore California crude by pipeline was announced from April 2026, and a Strategic Petroleum Reserve cargo was received by tanker in May 2026.
Crude in & products out
| Direction | Mode | Route | Point / origin | Products | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| crude in | pipeline | In-state California crude pipeline(s), unnamed Chevron's refinery overview fact sheet (2017 figures) gives crude receipts as 20% by pipeline from California sources. The pipeline and its operator are not named. |
California sources, 20% of crude receipts | crude | source |
| crude in | pipeline | Las Flores Pipeline (formerly Plains/Santa Ynez pipeline, operated by Sable Offshore Corp.) New (2026) crude source: following a Trump administration Defense Production Act order overriding California regulators, Sable restarted the former Santa Ynez/Plains pipeline (idled since a 2015 spill) as the 'Las Flores pipeline.' Chevron announced it would begin running ~20,000 bpd of this crude at El Segundo starting April 2026. |
Sable Offshore Santa Ynez Unit, offshore Santa Barbara | crude | source |
| crude in | marine | El Segundo Marine Terminal (Berths 3 and 4) Crude and intermediates are delivered by ship to the refinery's offshore marine terminal in Santa Monica Bay and pumped to the plant through underwater pipelines. About 50,000 bbl of a US Strategic Petroleum Reserve cargo was discharged at El Segundo in May 2026, the first SPR crude delivered to California. |
Tanker crude and intermediates; origins not named by Chevron. Chevron gives the tanker share as 80% of crude receipts in one fact sheet and about 90% in another. | crude | source |
| products out | pipeline | Dedicated Jet A pipeline to LAX The LAX Master Plan EIS/EIR says most Jet A reaches the airport through four dedicated pipelines from local refineries and terminals, owned and operated by the oil companies, and names Chevron among the local sources. The on-airport fuel farm is operated by LAXFUEL Corporation. Chevron's fact sheet (2017 figures) says the refinery supplies 40% of the jet fuel in Southern California. The name and owner of Chevron's line are not stated. |
jet fuel | source | |
| products out | pipeline | Kinder Morgan SFPP Kinder Morgan's March 2025 Pacific Operations brochure shows a Kinder Morgan carrier pipeline from Chevron El Segundo directly into Watson Station, the gathering point for the West Line and San Diego Line. The line does not pass through Sepulveda Junction. The diagram shows the connection but not the product split. |
Watson Station | gasoline distillate jet fuel | inferred |
| products out | pipeline | Chevron Products Pipeline The 2001 South Coast AQMD environmental impact report for the refinery says gasoline is transported by pipeline from the refinery to Chevron's distribution terminals at Montebello, Van Nuys and Huntington Beach, where ethanol is blended. Only gasoline is stated. The document does not name the pipeline owner. |
At the refinery | gasoline | source |
| products out | truck rack | Chevron Products Company, El Segundo (T-95-CA-4800) The IRS terminal T-95-CA-4800 is at the refinery's own address, 324 West El Segundo Boulevard. Chevron's driver loading manual (2024) lists El Segundo (Gate 3) for ultra-low sulfur diesel and El Segundo for aviation fuels. A 2013 California Air Resources Board settlement records refinery diesel supplied to the local truck rack. |
distillate jet fuel | source | |
| products out | marine | El Segundo Marine Terminal (Berths 3 and 4) The terminal has two offshore 7-point conventional buoy moorings connected to the refinery by submarine pipelines. Berth 3 has a clean system for gasoline, diesel and jet fuel and a black system for crude oil and black fuel oils. The State Lands Commission lease review says the terminal imports crude and feedstocks and exports refined products and components. |
Santa Monica Bay, offshore of the refinery | gasoline distillate jet fuel | source |
| products out | rail | Refinery rail loading rack The refinery's 2013 water board permit says liquefied petroleum products are imported and exported over the refinery's rail and truck loading racks. The 2001 South Coast AQMD report describes butane and pentane rail loading. Chevron's fact sheet lists 10 miles of railroad track at the plant. The serving railroad is not named. |
lpg | source |
Docks
The docks at this facility and, where a ship agent or port publishes it, the largest vessel each berth takes. Channel conditions change; these figures are a guide, not clearance to sail.
Chevron El Segundo Marine Terminal (Berths 3 and 4) · crude in, products out
- Owned by Chevron. Two offshore 7-point conventional buoy moorings connected to the refinery by submarine pipelines.
- Berth 3 is about 7,200 ft offshore. Its clean system handles light oils, primarily gasoline, diesel and jet fuel. Its black system handles crude oil and black fuel oils.
- Berth 4 is about 8,100 ft offshore, with a 36-inch submarine pipeline and a 14-inch circulation pipeline. What Berth 4 carries is not stated.
- The terminal imports crude oil and other feedstocks and exports refined products and components.
Source: Los Angeles/Long Beach Harbor Safety Plan, Appendix F (2015), read 2026-10-11.
Pipeline reach
| Pipeline | Injects at | Delivery points | Terminals | Lowest ¢/bbl | Median ¢/bbl |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chevron Products Pipeline |
Chevron El Segundo Refinery
|
3 | 3 | Private line — no public tariff | |
| Kinder Morgan SFPP |
Sepulveda Junction per research
|
1 | 0 | 1.87 | 2.04 |
Substitutes
Other refineries injecting into the same pipelines — the supply that could backfill an outage here.
Kinder Morgan SFPP
- Tesoro Refining & Marketing CO · Carson, CA 365,000 bpd
- Chevron USA INC · Richmond, CA 245,271 bpd
- Torrance Refining CO LLC · Torrance, CA 160,000 bpd
- Martinez Refining CO LLC · Martinez, CA 156,400 bpd
- Western Refining Company LP · El Paso, TX 133,000 bpd
- Ultramar INC · Wilmington Refinery, CA 85,000 bpd
Events
-
2026-05
other
First-ever delivery of US Strategic Petroleum Reserve crude to California; 50,000 bbl discharged at El Segundo (460,000 bbl at Chevron Richmond) amid Middle East supply disruption. source
-
2026-04
expansion
Chevron began running newly-restarted Sable Offshore Santa Ynez crude (via the Las Flores pipeline) at El Segundo, about 20,000 bpd. source
-
2026-03-19
turnaround
Isomax unit restarted after the five-month shutdown from the October 2025 fire, restoring jet fuel and high-octane gasoline output. source
-
2025-10-02
fire
Large explosion and fire in the jet fuel processing (Isomax/hydrocracking) unit; multiple units taken offline; refinery continued producing at diminished rates. Prompted a Los Angeles Times investigation into the cause. source
-
2025-05
outage
Separate incident: refinery took units offline and worked to restart its 100,500-bpd crude distillation unit (56,000-bpd vacuum distillation unit remained down). source
Rates are pipeline line-haul transcribed from published FERC tariffs; every figure cites its tariff and item. Cost to serve (netback) adds origin spot price and destination fees. "Confirmed" links match a tariff delivery point to the facility; "same city" means the point is in the facility's city — plausible, not proof; "per research" means the facility's research profile names the pipeline as an outlet.