Trainer Refinery (Monroe Energy LLC)
Monroe Energy, LLC · Delta Air Lines, Inc. · Trainer, PA
- bpd crude capacity · EIA 2026
- 190,000
- pipelines it injects into
- 1
- delivery points reachable
- 21
- terminals on those points
- 39
- events on record
- 3
Capability
Crude distillation 190,000 bpd operable, 190,000 operating (EIA-820, as of 2026-01-01). Downstream units below, barrels per calendar day.
Conversion — makes gasoline and diesel from heavier oil
| Catalytic cracking (FCC) | 51,500 |
| Hydrocracking — distillate | 21,500 |
Upgrading
| Catalytic reforming — low pressure | 45,000 |
| Vacuum distillation | 73,000 sd |
Treating — meets sulfur specs
| Hydrotreating — diesel | 53,300 sd |
| Hydrotreating — kerosene & jet | 23,300 sd |
| Hydrotreating — gasoline | 34,000 sd |
| Hydrotreating — naphtha / reformer feed | 80,000 sd |
Production capacity
Crude slate
Primarily light, sweet crude, as Monroe Energy describes the plant today. Crude arrives by ship at the refinery dock on the Delaware River. Countries and grades are not stated.
Crude in & products out
| Direction | Mode | Route | Point / origin | Products | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| crude in | marine | Monroe Trainer Ship Dock Crude is discharged at the refinery's ship dock on the Delaware River at 22,000 barrels an hour. The dock takes ships up to 38 ft draft, 900 ft length and 150,000 dwt. Matches graph edge #4804. |
Waterborne crude. Countries and grades are not stated. | crude | source |
| crude in | rail | Domestic crude under a 2014 supply agreement (historical) A five-year agreement from July 2014 would have ended about 2019. The source describes the supply as domestic crude and does not say it reached the plant by rail. No railroad is named, and current rail receipts at the plant are not established. |
Domestic crude under a five-year supply agreement that began in July 2014 | crude | source |
| products out | pipeline | MIPC pipeline system MIPC, LLC is Monroe Energy's affiliated pipeline company. MIPC states that product moves from the Trainer refinery through its tank farm in Aston Township, PA, to several common carrier pipelines. |
At the refinery | gasoline distillate jet fuel propane | source |
| products out | pipeline | Buckeye Pipeline Buckeye's connecting facilities table, updated November 2024, lists Monroe Energy under Chelsea, Pennsylvania. Product reaches Chelsea over MIPC's own lines from the refinery. Chelsea Jct. is the origin on Buckeye FERC 441 and 442; the tariffs name the junction, not the refinery. |
Chelsea Jct., reached through MIPC's Chelsea tank farm in Aston Township, PA | gasoline distillate | source |
| products out | truck rack | MIPC LLC Monroe Refinery Truck Rack (IRS T-23-PA-1772) The IRS active fuel terminals list dated 8/30/2026 carries this rack at the refinery's address under MIPC LLC. The products loaded at the rack are not stated. |
4101 Post Road, Trainer, PA | source | |
| products out | barge | Barge loading, Delaware River Monroe Energy states that it distributes product through pipelines and barges. The berth that loads product barges and the products loaded are not stated. |
Not stated | source |
Docks
The docks at this facility and, where a ship agent or port publishes it, the largest vessel each berth takes. Channel conditions change; these figures are a guide, not clearance to sail.
Monroe Trainer Ship Dock · crude in
| Berth | Max draft | Max length | Max beam | Air draft |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ship Dock | 38 ft | 900 ft | – | – |
- Owned by Monroe Energy, LLC, 4101 Post Road, Trainer, PA.
- Crude is the only cargo listed, at 22,000 barrels an hour through two 16-inch connections.
- One berth is listed. Vessels berth starboard side to and need 15 mooring lines.
- The dock silts in and the maximum draft can change. Call to confirm.
- Moran Shipping files this dock under the port of Wilmington, DE.
- No fresh water and no slop, sludge or ballast reception.
Source: Moran Shipping terminal guide, read 2026-10-11.
Pipeline reach
| Pipeline | Injects at | Delivery points | Terminals | Lowest ¢/bbl | Median ¢/bbl |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Buckeye Pipeline |
Chelsea Jct. per research
|
21 | 39 | 13.22 | 172.37 |
Substitutes
Other refineries injecting into the same pipelines — the supply that could backfill an outage here.
Buckeye Pipeline
- Wrb Refining LP · Wood River, IL 345,000 bpd
- Phillips 66 Company · Linden, NJ 275,000 bpd
- Lima Refining Company · Lima, OH 183,000 bpd
- Bp-Husky Refining LLC · Toledo, OH 172,800 bpd
- Paulsboro Refining CO LLC · Paulsboro, NJ 160,000 bpd
- Toledo Refining CO LLC · Toledo, OH 150,800 bpd
- Marathon Petroleum CO LP · Detroit, MI 146,000 bpd
Events
-
2026-06-25
fire
Fire in a process unit pump room while restarting the FCC after the prior week's outage. At least one employee was injured (some reports say up to four). The shelter-in-place was lifted and the cause was under investigation. source
-
2026-06-16
outage
Monroe Energy suspended operations at Trainer 'on Tuesday because of a process leak' (QCI report dated 2026-06-17, citing IIR). source
-
2023-09
turnaround
Major multi-million-dollar turnaround ('the September shutdown') with about 2,000 union craftsmen, including three 450-ton reactor lifts. source
Rates are pipeline line-haul transcribed from published FERC tariffs; every figure cites its tariff and item. Cost to serve (netback) adds origin spot price and destination fees. "Confirmed" links match a tariff delivery point to the facility; "same city" means the point is in the facility's city — plausible, not proof; "per research" means the facility's research profile names the pipeline as an outlet.