Wood River Refinery
Phillips 66 (owner and operator; WRB Refining LP is a wholly owned subsidiary) · Phillips 66. WRB Refining LP was a 50/50 joint venture between Phillips 66 and Cenovus Energy until October 1, 2025, when Phillips 66 acquired the remaining 50% interest. · Wood River, IL
- bpd crude capacity · EIA 2026
- 345,000
- pipelines it injects into · +1 same-city tariff origins
- 2
- delivery points reachable
- 11
- terminals on those points
- 15
- terminals reachable by barge
- 25
- events on record
- 3
Capability
Crude distillation 345,000 bpd operable, 345,000 operating (EIA-820, as of 2026-01-01). Downstream units below, barrels per calendar day.
Conversion — makes gasoline and diesel from heavier oil
| Catalytic cracking (FCC) | 97,900 |
| Hydrocracking — distillate | 60,600 |
| Delayed coking | 73,300 |
Upgrading
| Catalytic reforming — low pressure | 77,800 |
| Vacuum distillation | 206,500 sd |
Treating — meets sulfur specs
| Hydrotreating — diesel | 63,070 sd |
| Hydrotreating — kerosene & jet | 53,250 sd |
| Hydrotreating — gasoline | 52,260 sd |
| Hydrotreating — naphtha / reformer feed | 89,370 sd |
| Hydrotreating — residual | 11,000 sd |
Production capacity · barrels per stream day
Crude slate
Blended Canadian heavy (Keystone, Express-Platte), Permian and Bakken barrels (via Capwood/Patoka), per trade press.
Crude in & products out
| Direction | Mode | Route | Point / origin | Products | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| crude in | pipeline | Keystone Pipeline Keystone carries Canadian crude from Hardisty, Alberta, to Steele City, Nebraska, and on to the Wood River Refinery in Roxana and the Patoka hub. South Bow has owned the line since October 1, 2024, when TC Energy spun off its liquids business. The source is an encyclopedia entry; the Keystone tariff was not read. |
Hardisty, Alberta, Canada | crude | source |
| crude in | pipeline | Platte Pipeline (Express-Platte system) Platte Pipe Line Company's index of tariffs dated December 15, 2020 lists crude petroleum from Casper Station, Wyoming, to Wood River Station in Madison County, Illinois. The tie from Wood River Station to the refinery is not stated in the index. |
Casper Station, Wyoming | crude | source |
| crude in | pipeline | Capwood Pipeline (Plains) The Plains-operated Capwood pipeline delivers roughly 85,000 bpd from Patoka, IL, diversifying Wood River's crude slate. |
Patoka, IL | crude | source |
| crude in | pipeline | Ozark Pipeline The 433-mile, 22-inch Ozark line originates in Cushing, Oklahoma, and terminates in Wood River, Illinois. Oil & Gas Journal reported in February 2017 that an MPLX unit was acquiring the line. The source does not say in so many words that the line delivers into the refinery. |
Cushing, Oklahoma | crude | source |
| products out | pipeline | Phillips 66 Hartford Connector Phillips 66 Carrier LLC FERC No. 4.24.0 lists Roxana, Madison County, as the origin and Hartford, Madison County, as the destination. A second leg runs from Hartford to Explorer Pipeline at Wood River. Hartford is the location of the Phillips 66 Pipeline terminal (IRS terminal T-37-IL-3353). |
Roxana, Madison County, Illinois (at the refinery) | gasoline distillate jet fuel | source |
| products out | pipeline | Explorer Pipeline The connection is not at the plant. The Phillips 66 Carrier tariff carries product from Roxana to Hartford and from Hartford to Explorer PL at Wood River, and says limited tankage and operating constraints determine which products are made available to Explorer. Explorer's Wood River and St. Louis area sketch (revised April 2022) shows Phillips 66 with three origin meters and one delivery meter. |
Explorer PL, Wood River, Madison County, Illinois, reached over the Phillips 66 Hartford Connector through Hartford | gasoline distillate jet fuel | source |
| products out | pipeline | Buckeye Pipeline Buckeye's Directory of Connecting Facilities by Location, effective November 2024, lists WRB Refining LLC as a connected facility at Wood River. The directory does not list the products moved. |
Wood River, Illinois (Wood River Pipe Lines LLC) | gasoline distillate propane lpg | source |
| products out | truck rack | Truck loading (Phillips 66) The Phillips 66 annual report for 2025 says refined products from Wood River are distributed by pipeline, railcar, barge and truck. It does not say where trucks load or which products. |
source | ||
| products out | rail | Rail loading The Phillips 66 annual report for 2025 says refined products from Wood River are distributed by railcar. The serving railroad and the products moved are not stated. |
source | ||
| products out | barge | Barge loading (Mississippi River) The Phillips 66 annual report for 2025 says refined products from Wood River are distributed by barge. It does not name the dock or the products. |
source | ||
| products out | pipeline | Ozark Pipeline Current sourcing states Enbridge's ~215,000-bpd Ozark Pipeline 'runs from Phillips 66's Wood River refinery in Roxana to a storage terminal in Cushing, Okla.' -- i.e., the pipeline's current direction is OUT of Wood River toward Cushing (used for repositioning surplus/blended crude), not into the refinery. Historically (pre-2011) Ozark ran the opposite direction, Cushing-to-Wood River. |
Cushing, OK | crude reexport | source |
Pipeline reach
| Pipeline | Injects at | Delivery points | Terminals | Lowest ¢/bbl | Median ¢/bbl |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Explorer Pipeline |
Wood River (Madison County) same city
Wood River (Madison County, IL) per research
|
8 | 14 | 117.70 | 153.90 |
| Buckeye Pipeline |
Wood River / East St. Louis / Argo / Peotone (Wood River PL) per research
Wood River same city
|
2 | 0 | 24.90 | 28.04 |
| Phillips 66 Pipeline |
Roxana (Wood River refinery), Madison County per research
|
1 | 1 | 42.45 | 42.45 |
By water
| Waterway | Terminals | Nearest mi | Farthest mi |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mississippi River | 21 | 2 | 617 |
| Ohio/Mississippi River | 4 | 145 | 151 |
All 25 barge-reachable terminals
| Terminal | Location | Supplied by barge on | Miles |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hartford Wood River Terminal | Hartford, IL | Mississippi River (Hartford / Wood River, UMR) | 2 |
| Kinder Morgan Liquids Terminals LLC | Hartford, IL | Mississippi River (Hartford / Wood River, mile ~196 UMR) | 2 |
| Omega Partners III Hartford | Hartford, IL | Mississippi River (Hartford, UMR) | 2 |
| ConocoPhillips - E. St. Louis | Cahokia, IL | Mississippi River (St. Louis harbor / Cahokia) | 19 |
| TransMontaigne - Cape Girardeau | Cape Girardeau, MO | Mississippi River | 112 |
| Ayers Oil Company - Canton | Canton, MO | Mississippi River | 118 |
| Jsc Terminal LLC (Dba Midwest Terminal) | Paducah, KY | Ohio/Mississippi River | 145 |
| TransMontaigne - Paducah | Paducah, KY | Ohio/Mississippi River | 147 |
| Marathon Paducah | Paducah, KY | Ohio/Mississippi River | 150 |
| Marathon Petroleum Company LLC - Paducah Terminal | Paducah, KY | Ohio/Mississippi River | 151 |
| US Venture - Bettendorf | Bettendorf, IA | Mississippi River | 186 |
| Oakmar Terminal | Hayti, MO | Mississippi River | 191 |
| Delek Logistics Operating - Helena Terminal | Helena, AR | Mississippi River | 301 |
| Greenville | Greenville, MS | Mississippi River | 378 |
| Transmontaigne - Greenville- S | Greenville, MS | Mississippi River | 380 |
| TransMontaigne - Greenville - N | Greenville, MS | Mississippi River | 380 |
| Delta Terminal Incorporated | Greenville, MS | Mississippi River | 383 |
| Ergon Refining Inc | Vicksburg, MS | Mississippi River | 448 |
| Hunt Southland Refining Company | Vicksburg, MS | Mississippi River | 452 |
| Vicksburg Petroleum Products, LLC | Vicksburg, MS | Mississippi River | 456 |
| Lincoln Terminal Company LLC | Natchez, MS | Mississippi River | 511 |
| IMTT - Geismar | Geismar, LA | Mississippi River | 601 |
| Equilon Enterprises LLC | Covent, LA | Mississippi River | 609 |
| Gulf Gateway Terminal | New Orleans, LA | Mississippi River | 611 |
| Kinder Morgan - Harvey (New Orleans) Terminal | Harvey, LA | Mississippi River | 617 |
Substitutes
Other refineries injecting into the same pipelines — the supply that could backfill an outage here.
Buckeye Pipeline
- Phillips 66 Company · Linden, NJ 275,000 bpd
- Monroe Energy LLC · Trainer, PA 190,000 bpd
- Lima Refining Company · Lima, OH 183,000 bpd
- Bp-Husky Refining LLC · Toledo, OH 172,800 bpd
- Paulsboro Refining CO LLC · Paulsboro, NJ 160,000 bpd
- Toledo Refining CO LLC · Toledo, OH 150,800 bpd
- Marathon Petroleum CO LP · Detroit, MI 146,000 bpd
Explorer Pipeline
- Motiva Enterprises LLC · Port Arthur, TX 656,400 bpd
- Marathon Petroleum CO LP · Galveston Bay, TX 631,000 bpd
- Exxonmobil Refining & Supply CO · Beaumont, TX 612,000 bpd
- Exxonmobil Refining & Supply CO · Baytown, TX 564,500 bpd
- Citgo Petroleum Corp · Lake Charles, LA 471,200 bpd
- Premcor Refining Group INC · Port Arthur, TX 385,000 bpd
- Totalenergies Petrochem & Refg USA · Port Arthur, TX 238,000 bpd
- Valero Refining CO Texas LP · Texas City, TX 225,000 bpd
- Valero Refining CO Texas LP · Houston, TX 205,000 bpd
- Pasadena Refining Systems INC · Pasadena, TX 118,750 bpd
Phillips 66 Pipeline
- Phillips 66 Company · Sweeny, TX 277,000 bpd
- Phillips 66 Company · Ponca City, OK 228,000 bpd
- Diamond Shamrock Refining CO LP · Sunray, TX 195,000 bpd
- Wrb Refining LP · Borger, TX 149,000 bpd
- Chs Mcpherson Refinery INC · Mcpherson, KS 119,000 bpd
- Pasadena Refining Systems INC · Pasadena, TX 118,750 bpd
- Phillips 66 Company · Billings, MT 71,000 bpd
Events
-
2025-10-01
sale
Phillips 66 completed the purchase of the remaining 50% of WRB Refining LP from Cenovus for total cash consideration of $1.3 billion, subject to post-closing adjustments. From this date 100% of the Wood River and Borger refineries is included in Phillips 66 consolidated results. source
-
2025-09-09
sale
Phillips 66 progressing/finalizing the agreement to purchase the remaining interest in WRB Refining LP, moving toward full (100%) ownership of Wood River. source
-
2025-03
sale
Cenovus Energy agreed to sell its 50% interest in WRB Refining LP (Wood River and Borger refineries) to Phillips 66 for $1.4 billion. source
Rates are pipeline line-haul transcribed from published FERC tariffs; every figure cites its tariff and item. Cost to serve (netback) adds origin spot price and destination fees. "Confirmed" links match a tariff delivery point to the facility; "same city" means the point is in the facility's city — plausible, not proof; "per research" means the facility's research profile names the pipeline as an outlet.