Supply Explorer
Fuels refinery

Cenovus Lima Refinery

Lima Refining Company · Cenovus Energy Inc. · Lima, OH

Operating PADD2 jet fuel petrochemical feedstocks petroleum coke delayed coker products
Aerial view of the site Imagery: USDA, USGS The National Map (public domain)
bpd crude capacity · EIA 2026
183,000
pipelines it injects into · +2 same-city tariff origins
2
delivery points reachable
40
terminals on those points
63
events on record
4

Capability

Crude distillation 183,000 bpd operable, 183,000 operating (EIA-820, as of 2026-01-01). Downstream units below, barrels per calendar day.

Conversion — makes gasoline and diesel from heavier oil

Catalytic cracking (FCC) 44,394
Hydrocracking — gas oil 25,480
Delayed coking 22,150

Upgrading

Catalytic reforming — high pressure 53,900
Vacuum distillation 57,000 sd

Treating — meets sulfur specs

Hydrotreating — diesel 38,700 sd
Hydrotreating — kerosene & jet 27,000 sd
Hydrotreating — gasoline 35,000 sd
Hydrotreating — naphtha / reformer feed 63,000 sd

Production capacity

Aromatics · 9,200 Isomerization isobutane · 4,500 Isomerization isopentane isohexane · 18,700 Petcoke market · 6,300 Sulfur short tons day · 269

Crude slate

Both light sweet crude oil and heavy crude oil feedstock sourced from the U.S. and Canada, including Canadian synthetic crude oil such as HSB produced by the Lloydminster Upgrader; historically approximately 80% domestic.

Crude in & products out

From refinery research; each row links its source.
DirectionModeRoutePoint / originProductsSource
crude in pipeline Mid-Valley Pipeline
Operated by Mid Valley Pipeline Company LLC (Energy Transfer). Its crude tariff FERC 483.23.0 lists Lima, Allen County, OH as a destination from Longview, Delhi and Mayersville, and as an origin onward to Samaria, Toledo and Cygnet. Cenovus's 2022 Annual Information Form states feedstocks are received via the Mid-Valley and Marathon Pipelines.
Longview, TX; Delhi, LA; Mayersville, MS (tariff origins with a rate to Lima) crude source
crude in pipeline Marathon Pipe Line
Named alongside Mid-Valley as a crude feedstock delivery route in Cenovus's own SEC filing.
regional Marathon-owned crude network crude source
products out pipeline Buckeye Pipeline
Buckeye's 2024 directory of connecting facilities lists Husky Marketing and Supply Co. among the facilities connected to Buckeye at Lima. Buckeye tariff FERC 446.52.0 has Lima, Allen County as an origin but does not name the refinery. Cenovus's 2022 Annual Information Form names Buckeye as a products outlet to markets in Ohio, Illinois, Indiana, Pennsylvania and southern Michigan.
Lima, Ohio. Whether the tie is at the plant or through Buckeye's Lima Station is not stated. gasoline distillate source
products out pipeline Inland Corporation pipeline
Cenovus's 2022 Annual Information Form names Inland as a products outlet. Inland tariff FERC 31.38.0 carries Lima origin rates to Dayton, Columbus and Fostoria, and Ohio Rate Sheet 6.21.1 carries Lima origin rates and a Lima to Columbus volume incentive. The tariffs name the city, not the refinery.
Lima, Ohio origin. The exact point is not stated. gasoline distillate source
products out pipeline Sunoco Pipeline (Energy Transfer)
Cenovus's 2022 Annual Information Form names the Energy Transfer Partners pipeline systems as a products outlet. Sunoco Pipeline joint tariff FERC 216.18.0 routes Lima barrels on Inland to Sunoco at Fostoria Station, then on Sunoco to destination. No document shows a separate Sunoco connection at the plant.
Reached over Inland Corporation from Lima to Sunoco Pipeline at Fostoria Station gasoline distillate source
products out rail railcar distribution
Cenovus states that refined products are transported by pipelines and rail cars to markets in Ohio, Illinois, Indiana, Pennsylvania and southern Michigan. It does not itemise the products that move by rail. The one product it names is anode-grade petroleum coke, which moves by truck and railcar.
Lima refinery petroleum coke source
products out truck rack Lima Refining Company truck rack (IRS terminal T-34-OH-3176)
The IRS active fuel terminals list dated 8/30/2026 has a terminal in the name of Lima Refining Company at 1150 S Metcalf, Lima. The 2024 consent decree gives the same street address for the refinery. The products loaded at the rack are not described in the documents read.
1150 S Metcalf Street, Lima, OH source

Pipeline reach

Where this refinery’s product can go by published tariff route from the points it injects at — what an outage here would touch.
PipelineInjects atDelivery pointsTerminalsLowest ¢/bblMedian ¢/bbl
Buckeye Pipeline
Lima per research
28 49 35.01 225.89
Inland Corporation
Lima per research
8 12 9.66 163.99
Marathon Pipe Line (MPLX)
Lima, OH same city
Lima (Allen County), OH same city
3 2 96.60 181.60
Enterprise / TEPPCO
Lima, OH (jet fuel, 58.15.0) same city
1 0 221.24 221.24

Substitutes

Other refineries injecting into the same pipelines — the supply that could backfill an outage here.

Events

Outages, fires, turnarounds, sales and closures — newest first.
  1. 2026-09 turnaround

    Planned turnaround starting September 2026, expected to run to mid-October; scope per Cenovus (OPIS, 2026-07-29) includes crude unit, vacuum unit, hydrocracker, reformer and other units ("a big chunk of work"). OPIS cites capacity of 185,000 bpd. source

  2. 2025-10 turnaround

    Turnaround covering the fluid catalytic cracking unit, coking units and isomerization units ("In October 2025, Cenovus performed a turnaround that included the plant's fluid catalytic cracking unit, coking units and isomerization units."). source

  3. 2024-09 regulatory

    A consent decree in United States v. Lima Refining Company was lodged in September 2024. It covers the refinery owned and operated by Lima Refining Company at 1150 S. Metcalf Street in Lima, Ohio. source

  4. 2024-07-31 outage

    Lima Refining Company shut down one unit after an operational issue; increased flaring, company said no fire and no injuries. Reported refinery capacity 183,000 bpd. source

Rates are pipeline line-haul transcribed from published FERC tariffs; every figure cites its tariff and item. Cost to serve (netback) adds origin spot price and destination fees. "Confirmed" links match a tariff delivery point to the facility; "same city" means the point is in the facility's city — plausible, not proof; "per research" means the facility's research profile names the pipeline as an outlet.