Shell Norco Manufacturing Complex (Norco Refinery)
Shell Oil Products US · Shell plc (formerly Royal Dutch Shell) · Norco, LA
- bpd crude capacity · EIA 2026
- 231,153
- pipelines it injects into · +1 same-city tariff origins
- 2
- delivery points reachable
- 32
- terminals on those points
- 106
- terminals reachable by barge
- 60
- events on record
- 3
Capability
Crude distillation 231,153 bpd operable, 231,153 operating (EIA-820, as of 2026-01-01). Downstream units below, barrels per calendar day.
Conversion — makes gasoline and diesel from heavier oil
| Catalytic cracking (FCC) | 113,276 |
| Hydrocracking — gas oil | 42,623 |
| Delayed coking | 24,071 |
Upgrading
| Catalytic reforming — low pressure | 29,149 |
| Vacuum distillation | 91,300 sd |
Treating — meets sulfur specs
| Hydrotreating — diesel | 70,000 sd |
| Hydrotreating — gasoline | 77,000 sd |
| Hydrotreating — naphtha / reformer feed | 42,000 sd |
Production capacity
Crude slate
Not stated in any document read.
Crude in & products out
| Direction | Mode | Route | Point / origin | Products | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| crude in | pipeline | Maurepas Pipeline (LOCAP-to-Norco crude line) 34-mile, 34-inch-class crude pipeline built by SemGroup affiliates (2015-2016 project) connecting the existing LOCAP terminal directly to the Norco refinery. |
LOCAP terminal, St. James, LA | crude | source |
| crude in | marine | Shell Norco docks, Mississippi River The refinery has its own docks on the Mississippi River at about mile 126. Docks 1 and 2 take ships to 800 ft and 900 ft, with displacement limits of 120,000 and 130,000 and a 47 ft fresh-water transit draft. No document states that crude is received over these docks. |
crude | source | |
| products out | pipeline | Bengal Pipeline Bengal FERC 19.25.0, effective July 1, 2026, lists Norco as an origin with proportional rates to Colonial Pipeline Junction and Plantation Pipeline Junction at Baton Rouge, and a Norco-only rate to Mt. Airy. The tariff names the town, not the refinery. Plantation's Customer Information Manual (rev. 07/01/23) names the Norco refinery as reaching it via Bengal Pipeline. |
Norco (Saint Charles Parish) tariff origin | gasoline distillate | source |
| products out | pipeline | Colonial Pipeline Colonial does not connect at the plant. Product leaves Norco on Bengal Pipeline and is handed to Colonial at Baton Rouge. The joint Colonial and Bengal through tariff from Norco was cancelled by Colonial FERC 100.47.0 effective September 1, 2026, so barrels now move on Bengal's proportional rate plus Colonial's local rates. |
Colonial Pipeline Junction, Baton Rouge Product Station, East Feliciana Parish, reached over Bengal Pipeline | gasoline distillate | source |
| products out | pipeline | Plantation Pipeline Plantation does not connect at the plant. Bengal FERC 19.25.0 has a proportional rate into Plantation from Norco and Garyville only. Plantation's rates tariff applies a proportional rate to volumes received from Bengal's Norco-to-Baton Rouge line, and its Customer Information Manual (rev. 07/01/23) lists Norco as an origin for the refinery via Bengal Pipeline. |
Plantation Pipeline Junction, East Baton Rouge Parish, reached over Bengal Pipeline | gasoline distillate | source |
| products out | marine | Shell Norco docks, Mississippi River The refinery has its own river docks. Moran Shipping lists vessel limits for Docks 1, 2 and 4, and NOAA Coast Pilot 5 describes an oil-transfer wharf at Norco. Which products move over which dock is not published. |
Norco, Lower Mississippi River about mile 126 | source |
Docks
The docks at this facility and, where a ship agent or port publishes it, the largest vessel each berth takes. Channel conditions change; these figures are a guide, not clearance to sail.
Shell Norco Docks 1, 2 and 4
| Berth | Max draft | Max length | Max beam | Air draft |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dock 1 | 47 ft | 800 ft | 200 ft | – |
| Dock 2 | 47 ft | 900 ft | 200 ft | – |
| Dock 4 | 47 ft | 600 ft | 90 ft | – |
- Shell Norco terminal, 15536 River Rd.
- The 47 ft draft is the maximum fresh-water transit draft for the terminal as a whole. Depth alongside was 55.1 ft when read.
- Limits are given as displacement, not deadweight: 120,000 at Dock 1, 130,000 at Dock 2 and 32,000 at Dock 4. The unit is not stated.
- Hoses: two 8-inch at Docks 1 and 2, one 8-inch at Dock 4. Dock 4 has a minimum parallel body length of 265 ft.
- What moves over each dock is not stated.
Source: Moran Shipping terminal page, Shell Norco, read 2026-10-11.
Shell Norco Dock 3
- Lower Mississippi River mile 126.
- A crane barge and a deck barge were moored at the dock in December 2024, when a tow struck them and the dock was damaged.
- No vessel limits are published for this dock.
Source: NTSB Marine Investigation Report MIR-25-43, read 2026-10-11.
Norco oil-transfer wharf, Berth 1 and Berth 1A
- Coast Pilot description of the same refinery waterfront, on the north side of the river 126.1 miles above Head of Passes.
- Berth 1 has 750 ft of berthing space and 45 ft alongside. Berth 1A has 465 ft of berthing space and 25 ft alongside. Deck height is 35 ft.
- Described as an oil-transfer wharf; crude and products are not separated.
- The Coast Pilot names Motiva Enterprises as operator. Shell has owned the refinery alone since May 1, 2017.
Source: NOAA Coast Pilot 5, read 2026-10-11.
Pipeline reach
| Pipeline | Injects at | Delivery points | Terminals | Lowest ¢/bbl | Median ¢/bbl |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Plantation Pipeline |
Garyville (St. John the Baptist Parish), via Marathon Pipe Line (joint tariff 156.29.0) per research
|
29 | 106 | 114.65 | 251.61 |
| Bengal Pipeline |
Norco (Saint Charles Parish) per research
|
3 | 0 | 79.35 | 79.95 |
By water
| Waterway | Terminals | Nearest mi | Farthest mi |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mississippi River | 19 | 18 | 703 |
| Lower Mississippi River / Gulf Intracoastal Waterway | 1 | 38 | 38 |
| Gulf Intracoastal Waterway | 13 | 48 | 517 |
| Bayou Teche / Gulf Intracoastal Waterway | 2 | 91 | 92 |
| Mobile Bay / Gulf ICW | 12 | 139 | 150 |
| Gulf ICW | 3 | 185 | 193 |
| Gulf Intracoastal Waterway / Galveston Bay | 1 | 267 | 267 |
| Gulf Intracoastal Waterway / Houston Ship Channel | 1 | 274 | 274 |
| Victoria Barge Canal / Gulf Intracoastal Waterway | 1 | 404 | 404 |
| Ohio/Mississippi River | 4 | 496 | 501 |
| Gulf Intracoastal Waterway / Port of Harlingen | 3 | 510 | 511 |
All 60 barge-reachable terminals
| Terminal | Location | Supplied by barge on | Miles |
|---|---|---|---|
| Equilon Enterprises LLC | Covent, LA | Mississippi River | 18 |
| Kinder Morgan - Harvey (New Orleans) Terminal | Harvey, LA | Mississippi River | 20 |
| Gulf Gateway Terminal | New Orleans, LA | Mississippi River | 25 |
| IMTT - Geismar | Geismar, LA | Lower Mississippi River / Gulf Intracoastal Waterway | 38 |
| Martin Operating Partnership, L.P. | Amelia, LA | Gulf Intracoastal Waterway (Amelia / Bayou Boeuf) | 48 |
| Five Star Fuels | Baldwin, LA | Gulf Intracoastal Waterway (Baldwin / Bayou Teche corridor) | 69 |
| Anse La Butte | Breau Bridge, LA | Bayou Teche / Gulf Intracoastal Waterway | 91 |
| Breaux Bridge Terminal | Breau Bridge, LA | Bayou Teche / Gulf Intracoastal Waterway | 92 |
| Lincoln Terminal Company LLC | Natchez, MS | Mississippi River | 122 |
| Martin Operating Partnership, L.P. | Gueydan, LA | Gulf Intracoastal Waterway (Gueydan / Vermilion Parish) | 134 |
| Martin Energy Services LLC | Mobile, AL | Mobile Bay / Gulf ICW | 139 |
| Radcliff/Economy Marine Services - Mobile North | Mobile, AL | Mobile Bay / Gulf ICW | 149 |
| Barcliff LLC | Mobile, AL | Mobile Bay / Gulf ICW | 149 |
| Barcliff d/b/a/ Radcliff Economy Marine Services | Mobile, AL | Mobile Bay / Gulf ICW | 149 |
| Alabama Bulk Terminal LLC | Mobile, AL | Mobile Bay / Gulf ICW | 149 |
| Plains Marketing Terminal / Eott Energy | Mobile, AL | Mobile Bay / Gulf ICW | 149 |
| Zenith Energy US - Mobile Terminal | Mobile, AL | Mobile Bay / Gulf ICW | 149 |
| Center Point Chickasaw LLC - Chicksaw North Terminal | Mobile, AL | Mobile Bay / Gulf ICW | 149 |
| Dunhill Terminals | Mobile, AL | Mobile Bay / Gulf ICW | 150 |
| Petroleum Fuel & Terminal Company Chickasaw | Mobile, AL | Mobile Bay / Gulf ICW | 150 |
| Midstream Fuel Services, Incorporated - Martin Company | Mobile, AL | Mobile Bay / Gulf ICW | 150 |
| Petroleum Fuel & Terminal Company | Chickasaw, AL | Mobile Bay / Gulf ICW | 150 |
| Vicksburg Petroleum Products, LLC | Vicksburg, MS | Mississippi River | 161 |
| Hunt Southland Refining Company | Vicksburg, MS | Mississippi River | 164 |
| Ergon Refining Inc | Vicksburg, MS | Mississippi River | 168 |
| Mocar Oil | Pensacola, FL | Gulf ICW | 185 |
| TransMontaigne - Pensacola | Pensacola, FL | Gulf ICW | 192 |
| Transmontaigne Partners L.p. - Pensacola Terminal | Pensacola, FL | Gulf ICW | 193 |
| Port Neches Terminal | Port Neches, TX | Gulf Intracoastal Waterway (Matagorda Bay) | 212 |
| Delta Terminal Incorporated | Greenville, MS | Mississippi River | 236 |
| TransMontaigne - Greenville - N | Greenville, MS | Mississippi River | 238 |
| Transmontaigne - Greenville- S | Greenville, MS | Mississippi River | 238 |
| Greenville | Greenville, MS | Mississippi River | 240 |
| Martin Operating Partnership, L.P. | Galveston, TX | Gulf Intracoastal Waterway / Galveston Bay | 267 |
| OILTANKING TEXAS CITY LP | Texas City, TX | Gulf Intracoastal Waterway / Houston Ship Channel | 274 |
| Delek Logistics Operating - Helena Terminal | Helena, AR | Mississippi River | 311 |
| CITGO - Victoria | Victoria, TX | Victoria Barge Canal / Gulf Intracoastal Waterway | 404 |
| Oakmar Terminal | Hayti, MO | Mississippi River | 421 |
| Martin Operating Partnership | Aransas Pass, TX | Gulf Intracoastal Waterway (Corpus Christi area) | 423 |
| Bay Ltd. Redfish Bay Terminal | Aransas Pass, TX | Gulf Intracoastal Waterway | 434 |
| Marathon Paducah | Paducah, KY | Ohio/Mississippi River | 496 |
| Port Isabel Logistical Offshore Terminal | Port Isabel, TX | Gulf Intracoastal Waterway (Lower Laguna Madre) | 496 |
| Marathon Petroleum Company LLC - Paducah Terminal | Paducah, KY | Ohio/Mississippi River | 497 |
| TransMontaigne - Paducah | Paducah, KY | Ohio/Mississippi River | 500 |
| Jsc Terminal LLC (Dba Midwest Terminal) | Paducah, KY | Ohio/Mississippi River | 501 |
| TransMontaigne - Cape Girardeau | Cape Girardeau, MO | Mississippi River | 506 |
| ABC Gulf Coast Terminal | Brownsville, TX | Gulf Intracoastal Waterway (to Brownsville) | 509 |
| CITGO - Brownsville | Brownsville, TX | Gulf Intracoastal Waterway | 509 |
| TransMontaigne - SouthWest | Brownsville, TX | Gulf Intracoastal Waterway | 509 |
| Brownsville Terminal | Brownsville, TX | Gulf Intracoastal Waterway (to Brownsville) | 510 |
| Titan Fuel Terminals | Harlingen, TX | Gulf Intracoastal Waterway / Port of Harlingen | 510 |
| NuStar Logistics, L.P. - Harlingen, TX | Harlingen, TX | Gulf Intracoastal Waterway / Port of Harlingen | 511 |
| Port Harlingen Terminal | Harlingen, TX | Gulf Intracoastal Waterway / Port of Harlingen (Arroyo Colorado) | 511 |
| Titan Fuel Terminal | Harlingen, TX | Gulf Intracoastal Waterway (to Harlingen) | 511 |
| Bluewing One | Brownsville, TX | Gulf Intracoastal Waterway | 517 |
| ConocoPhillips - E. St. Louis | Cahokia, IL | Mississippi River (St. Louis harbor / Cahokia) | 593 |
| Omega Partners III Hartford | Hartford, IL | Mississippi River (Hartford, UMR) | 610 |
| Kinder Morgan Liquids Terminals LLC | Hartford, IL | Mississippi River (Hartford / Wood River, mile ~196 UMR) | 610 |
| Hartford Wood River Terminal | Hartford, IL | Mississippi River (Hartford / Wood River, UMR) | 611 |
| Ayers Oil Company - Canton | Canton, MO | Mississippi River | 703 |
Substitutes
Other refineries injecting into the same pipelines — the supply that could backfill an outage here.
Bengal Pipeline
- Marathon Petroleum CO LP · Garyville, LA 617,000 bpd
- Exxonmobil Refining & Supply CO · Baton Rouge, LA 523,500 bpd
- Valero Refining New Orleans LLC · Norco, LA 215,000 bpd
Colonial Pipeline
- Motiva Enterprises LLC · Port Arthur, TX 656,400 bpd
- Marathon Petroleum CO LP · Galveston Bay, TX 631,000 bpd
- Marathon Petroleum CO LP · Garyville, LA 617,000 bpd
- Exxonmobil Refining & Supply CO · Beaumont, TX 612,000 bpd
- Exxonmobil Refining & Supply CO · Baytown, TX 564,500 bpd
- Exxonmobil Refining & Supply CO · Baton Rouge, LA 523,500 bpd
- Citgo Petroleum Corp · Lake Charles, LA 471,200 bpd
- Premcor Refining Group INC · Port Arthur, TX 385,000 bpd
- Deer Park Refining LP · Deer Park, TX 312,500 bpd
- Phillips 66 Company · Linden, NJ 275,000 bpd
- Phillips 66 Company · Westlake, LA 263,700 bpd
- Totalenergies Petrochem & Refg USA · Port Arthur, TX 238,000 bpd
- Valero Refining CO Texas LP · Texas City, TX 225,000 bpd
- Valero Refining New Orleans LLC · Norco, LA 215,000 bpd
- Valero Refining CO Texas LP · Houston, TX 205,000 bpd
- Chalmette Refining LLC · Chalmette, LA 190,000 bpd
- Paulsboro Refining CO LLC · Paulsboro, NJ 160,000 bpd
- Calcasieu Refining CO · Lake Charles, LA 135,500 bpd
- Valero Refining - Meraux LLC · Meraux, LA 125,000 bpd
- Pasadena Refining Systems INC · Pasadena, TX 118,750 bpd
- Alon Refining Krotz Springs INC · Krotz Springs, LA 80,000 bpd
- Placid Refining CO · Port Allen, LA 75,000 bpd
- Hunt Refining CO · Tuscaloosa, AL 50,000 bpd
Plantation Pipeline
- Marathon Petroleum CO LP · Garyville, LA 617,000 bpd
- Exxonmobil Refining & Supply CO · Baton Rouge, LA 523,500 bpd
- Chevron USA INC · Pascagoula, MS 356,440 bpd
- Valero Refining - Meraux LLC · Meraux, LA 125,000 bpd
- Placid Refining CO · Port Allen, LA 75,000 bpd
Events
-
2024-12
other
A tow struck a crane barge and a deck barge moored at the refinery's No. 3 dock at Lower Mississippi River mile 126. The refinery found damage to the dock and to both barges a few days later (NTSB report MIR-25-43). source
-
2017-05-01
sale
Shell and Saudi Aramco completed the split of the Motiva Enterprises LLC joint venture; Shell assumed sole ownership of the Norco and Convent, LA refineries, while Saudi Aramco retained the Motiva name and the Port Arthur, TX refinery. source
-
2015
expansion
Maurepas Pipeline system built in 2015-2016, connecting the LOCAP St. James terminal to Norco and directly linking the Norco and Convent refineries to support integrated operation of both plants. source
Rates are pipeline line-haul transcribed from published FERC tariffs; every figure cites its tariff and item. Cost to serve (netback) adds origin spot price and destination fees. "Confirmed" links match a tariff delivery point to the facility; "same city" means the point is in the facility's city — plausible, not proof; "per research" means the facility's research profile names the pipeline as an outlet.