Supply Explorer
Refinery

Petromax Refining Company

Petromax Refining Company LLC · Petromax Refining Company, LLC operates the plant as lessee. The plant is owned by Bayview Refining Company, LLC, which has been 100% owned by Sunoco Partners Marketing & Terminals L.P. since 12 October 2021. · Houston, TX

Operating PADD3 IRS refinery no. R-00-TX-0247 jet fuel lpg naphtha distillate
Aerial view of the site Imagery: USDA, USGS The National Map (public domain)
bpd crude capacity · EIA 2026
25,000
pipelines it injects into · +1 same-city tariff origins
0
delivery points reachable
17
terminals on those points
11
events on record
6

Capability

Crude distillation 25,000 bpd operable, 25,000 operating (EIA-820, as of 2026-01-01). Downstream units below, barrels per calendar day.

Crude slate

Crude oil and condensate, delivered by barge or tanker truck (EPA inspection report, February 2022). The feed is preheated and desalted before the crude charge heater. Grades and source regions are not published.

Crude in & products out

From refinery research; each row links its source.
DirectionModeRoutePoint / originProductsSource
crude in marine Barge receipts (berth not identified)
EPA's February 2022 inspection report says crude oil and condensate feed is delivered by barge or tanker truck and sent to storage tanks. The report does not name the berth or its owner.
Crude oil and condensate. Origins are not stated. crude source
crude in truck Tanker truck receipts
EPA's February 2022 inspection report says crude oil and condensate feed is delivered by barge or tanker truck and sent to storage tanks.
Crude oil and condensate. Origins are not stated. crude source
products out truck rack Petromax truck rack (IRS terminal T-76-TX-2842)
The IRS lists terminal T-76-TX-2842, Petromax, at the plant's own address. EPA's 2022 inspection report names an LPG Loading Area at the site. The products loaded at the rack are not published.
1519 South Sheldon Rd, Houston, TX 77015 source

Pipeline reach

Where this refinery’s product can go by published tariff route from the points it injects at — what an outage here would touch.
PipelineInjects atDelivery pointsTerminalsLowest ¢/bblMedian ¢/bbl
Magellan Midstream
East Houston, TX same city
17 11 44.33 254.77

Substitutes

Other refineries injecting into the same pipelines — the supply that could backfill an outage here.

Events

Outages, fires, turnarounds, sales and closures — newest first.
  1. 2025-09-03 regulatory

    SBA OHA denied Petromax's size appeal (SIZ-6368), upholding the June 5, 2025 finding that Petromax is affiliated with Sunoco and not a small business. source

  2. 2023-09-25 ownership

    Sunoco/Bayview and Petromax signed a Second Amended and Restated Refinery Lease Agreement. Petromax runs the plant as lessee, and Bayview provides a credit line for feedstock purchases. Bayview can end the lease on 30 days' notice. source

  3. 2023-01-25 regulatory

    EPA issued a Risk Management Program consent agreement and final order against the plant on 25 January 2023. It was settled on 27 January 2023 with a federal penalty of $85,163. source

  4. 2022-02-14 regulatory

    EPA Region 6 inspected the plant under the Clean Air Act 112(r) Risk Management Program from 14 to 17 February 2022. The inspection report describes the plant as a 25,000 barrels per day fractionation facility with an atmospheric distillation unit. source

  5. 2021-10-12 ownership

    Petromax sold its 51% membership interest in Bayview Refining Company to Sunoco under a buy sell agreement. Bayview, the owner of the plant, has been 100% owned by Sunoco since then. source

  6. 2021-09-20 other

    Sunoco asked the District Court of Harris County, Texas for an injunction against Petromax, alleging breach of contract. source

Rates are pipeline line-haul transcribed from published FERC tariffs; every figure cites its tariff and item. Cost to serve (netback) adds origin spot price and destination fees. "Confirmed" links match a tariff delivery point to the facility; "same city" means the point is in the facility's city — plausible, not proof; "per research" means the facility's research profile names the pipeline as an outlet.